FantasySharks.com

There are two types of Fantasy Football Owners: Sharks and Chum, which are you?
It is currently Sat 11.01.2014, 06:56

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: WW Pitchers
PostPosted: Thu 06.14.2012, 11:26 
Great White Shark
Great White Shark

Sand$: 3045
Donate
nyg.gif
As you know I am still new to this Fantasy Baseball thing. Sooo here is my question. Obviously there are some pitching studs that can be found on the waiver wire. i.e. RA Dickey and James McDonald...there are also some phonies i.e. Bud Norris and Felipe Paulino. How do you know to take the Dickey and the McDonalds over the Norris' and the Paulino's? What do you use in factoring your decision? Hope this makes sense.

Post subject: Re: WW Pitchers
PostPosted: Thu 06.14.2012, 11:55 

Sand$: 99540
Donate
This is a series of lecture's, not a one paragraph reponse...but I'll try

*Is there prospect pedigree? McDonald has it, Norris doesn't.

*Did something meaningful change with the player from previous years to this year? McDonald finally honed in on his control and got away from LA where he was horribly mismanaged. Nothing changed with Norris.

*Sample size - if there is a large enough sample (500 IP is a good baseline for a starter) saying a pitcher doesn't have what it takes to be a horse and their early season numbers suggest otherwise, trust the large sample