FantasySharks.com

There are two types of Fantasy Football Owners: Sharks and Chum, which are you?
It is currently Thu 04.24.2014, 15:58

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: Thu 08.30.2012, 11:52 
Great White Shark
Great White Shark

Sand$: 2508
Donate
There are a few things people do in fantasy football that make no sense (more than a few, but I will highlight a few). Keep in mind this is only my second year playing and I'm not an expert on football, but these are so obvious that I don't think you need a football background

1) handcuffing. Handcuffing provides no more value to the guy with the starter than to anybody else in the league. Let's take an example

Team 1: 
Running backs MJD, Arian foster, Trent Richardson
Bench running backs: Willis mcgahee,  rashad Jennings

Team 2: running backs: Chris Johnson, Arian foster, Trent Richardson 
Bench running backs: Willis mcgahee, rashad Jennings

Let's look at some scenarios:
1) nobody gets injured. In this case the starters keep playing
2) MJD gets injured. Now if u had mcgahee and rashad Jennings on your bench, would you really start Jennings over mcgahee?  Makes no sense to do so
3) MJD gets injured and rashad Jennings becomes such a break out star that he is miles better than mcgahee. In this case you could start Jennings if you are player one. Your running backs would then be Jennings, foster, Richardson. Do you notice that player two could also have the same starting line up if he chooses to? He could bench Chris Johnson

So there is no scenario in which MJD gets injured and Jennings provides more value to that player than to every other player. Either he sucks and you should not want to start him anyway or he's good and you want to start him regardless of if you had
MJD on your roster or not

If anything he has marginally more value to the player without MJD because then you have less players with the same bye week