Sunday - Jun 13, 2021

Home / IDP / 2020 IDP PLAYOFF RANKINGS: Wild Card Round

2020 IDP PLAYOFF RANKINGS: Wild Card Round

Fantasy football enthusiasts are, for the most part, in the same miserable boat as 20 of the National Football League’s teams.

The season is over. No more games. No more fun. Just the unending void that is the offseason.

It’s all really quite depressing.

There are a number of ways that fantasy managers try to cope with the offseason. Some spend time with friends and family, although mine have made it abundantly clear that’s not an option.

I’m starting to feel a little unloved.

Others still watch other sports, which apparently are a thing. There’s allegedly one that’s played in the winter called “baseketball,” although after checking it out it seems a little weird.

To be fair, I may be a little off on the spelling there.

The thing is, all hope is not lost, intrepid fantasy football freaks. You can still stave off the offseason blues for a while longer–by participating in a fantasy playoff Individual Defensive Player (IDP) league.

Like, oh, say maybe the Fantasy Sharks IDP Playoff Challenge.

In order to help you in the final quest for a fantasy championship (and a few laughs), I’ll be publishing IDP rankings each week during the NFL playoffs here at Fantasy Sharks. These rankings assume a league format where teams start two defensive linemen, two linebackers, two defensive backs and a “flex” spot or two.

They also assume a “one/two and done” format where players are concerned. In other words, while the entire pool of individual defensive players is available, each player can only be used once (or twice, in some formats). So, while matchup and talent are still the primary considerations, it’s also important to identify which teams are going to be eliminated in a given week and try to use those players where possible.

Otherwise, by the time we get to Super Bowl LIV, IDP owners won’t have anyone left to slot in starting lineups.

With those caveats in mind, here’s a look at the Top 10 defensive linemen, linebackers and defensive backs for the Wild Card Round.


  1. Danielle Hunter – DE, MIN (at NOS)
  2. Cameron Jordan – DE, NOS (vs. MIN)
  3. Brandon Graham – DE, PHI (vs. SEA)
  4. J.J. Watt – DE, HOU (vs. BUF)
  5. Ed Oliver – DT, BUF (at HOU)
  6. Jadeveon Clowney – DE, SEA (at PHI)
  7. Jerry Hughes – DE, BUF (at HOU)
  8. Derek Barnett – DE, PHI (vs. SEA)
  9. Jurrell Casey – DE, TEN (at NEP)
  10. Trent Murphy – DE, BUF (at HOU)


  1. Bobby Wagner 0 ILB, SEA (at PHI)
  2. Jayon Brown – ILB, TEN (at NEP)
  3. Zach Cunningham – ILB, HOU (vs. BUF)
  4. Eric Kendricks – ILB, MIN (at NOS
  5. Tremaine Edmunds – ILB, BUF (at HOU)
  6. Demario Davis – OLB, NOS (vs. MIN)
  7. Jamie Collins – OLB, NEP (vs. TEN)
  8. K.J. Wright – OLB, SEA (at PHI)
  9. Matt Milano – OLB, BUF (at HOU)
  10. Rashaan Evans – ILB, TEN (at NEP)


  1. Logan Ryan – CB, TEN (at NEP)
  2. Jordan Poyer – S, BUF (at HOU)
  3. Malcolm Jenkins – S, PHI (vs. SEA)
  4. Vonn Bell – S, NOS (vs. MIN)
  5. Harrison Smith – S, MIN (at HOU)
  6. Justin Reid – S, HOU (vs. BUF)
  7. Kevin Byard – S, TEN (at NEP)
  8. Anthony Harris – S, MIN (at NOS)
  9. Bradley McDougald – S, SEA (at PHI)
  10. Tre Flowers – CB, SEA (at PHI)

About Gary Davenport

A member of the Fantasy Sports Writers Association and Pro Football Writers of America who resides in Columbus, Ohio, Gary has been featured on a number of fantasy websites and in nationally circulated publications. These publications include the USA Today Fantasy Football Preview and the magazines distributed by Fantasy Sports Publications Inc., for whom Gary is a both a contributing author and associate editor. Gary is an nine-time FSWA Award finalist and three-time winner who has been a finalist for that organization's Fantasy Football Writer of the Year award four times. He won the honor in 2017 and 2019. Gary also appears regularly on Sirius XM Radio (including live from Radio Row at Super Bowl XLIX) and over-the-air stations across the country. Gary was one of the co-founders of, and Head Writer at, Fantasy Football Oasis before joining Fantasy Sharks as an IDP Senior Staff Writer in 2011. He knows football. Or so he's heard.