Monday - Sep 28, 2020

Home / IDP / IDP PLAYOFF RANKINGS: Wild Card Round


And then there were 12—coincidentally the same number of teams that are in most IDP leagues.

Exactly 12 teams in the NFL still give half a crap as 2018 dawns—the teams that are in the postseason.

For some teams, it’s a new experience. The Jacksonville Jaguars haven’t played in the NFL’s second season in a decade. The Los Angeles Rams haven’t been to the playoffs since 2004.

And the Bills? The Bills are partying like it’s 1999, baby.

Other teams are the usual suspects. Both teams from last year’s Super Bowl are in the postseason again, although we won’t see the New England Patriots until the Divisional Round.

Saturday that dirty dozen of teams will begin the march to Minneapolis and Super Bowl LII.

And with them so will begin the march to one more chance at fantasy glory this season – playoff leagues.

In order to help you in the final quest for a championship, I’ll be publishing IDP rankings each week during the NFL playoffs here at Fantasy Sharks. These rankings assume a league format where teams start two defensive linemen, two linebackers, two defensive backs and a “flex” spot.

They also assume a “one/two and done” format where players are concerned. In other words, while the entire pool of individual defensive players is available, each player can only be used once (or twice, in some formats). So, while matchup and talent are still the primary considerations, it’s also important to identify which teams are going to be eliminated in a given week and try to use those players where possible.

Otherwise, by the time we get to Super Bowl LII, IDP owners won’t have anyone left to slot in starting lineups.

With those caveats in mind, here’s a look at the top 10 defensive linemen, linebackers and defensive backs for the Wild Card Round.



  1. Calais Campbell – DE, JAX (vs. BUF)
  2. Mario Addison – DE, CAR (at NOS)
  3. Cameron Jordan – DE, NOS (vs. CAR)
  4. Aaron Donald – DE, LAR (vs. ATL)
  5. Yannick Ngakoue – DE, JAX (vs. BUF)
  6. Jurrell Casey – DE, TEN (at JAX)
  7. Julius Peppers – DE, CAR (at NOS)
  8. Malik Jackson – DT, JAX (vs. BUF)
  9. Jerry Hughes – DE, BUF (at JAX)
  10. Kawann Short – DT, CAR (at NOS)


  1. Luke Kuechly – ILB, CAR (at NOS)
  2. Wesley Woodyard – ILB, TEN (at KCC)
  3. Deion Jones – ILB, ATL (at LAR)
  4. Preston Brown – ILB, BUF (at JAX)
  5. Telvin Smith – OLB, JAX (vs. BUF)
  6. Alec Ogletree – ILB, LAR (vs. ATL)
  7. Mark Barron – ILB, LAR (vs. ATL)
  8. Craig Robertson – ILB, NOS (vs. CAR)
  9. De’Vondre Campbell – OLB, ATL (at LAR)
  10. Avery Williamson – ILB, TEN (at JAX)


  1. Keanu Neal – S, ATL (at LAR)
  2. Jordan Poyer – S, BUF (at JAX)
  3. Kevin Byard – S, TEN (at KCC)
  4. Micah Hyde – S, BUF (at JAX)
  5. Kurt Coleman – S, CAR (at NOS)
  6. Vonn Bell – S, NOS (vs. CAR)
  7. Daniel Sorensen – S, KCC (vs. TEN)
  8. Barry Church – S, JAX (vs. BUF)
  9. John Johnson – S, LAR (vs. ATL)
  10. James Bradberry – CB, CAR (at NOS)

About Gary Davenport

A member of the Fantasy Sports Writers Association and Pro Football Writers of America who resides in Columbus, Ohio, Gary has been featured on a number of fantasy websites and in nationally circulated publications. These publications include the USA Today Fantasy Football Preview and the magazines distributed by Fantasy Sports Publications Inc., for whom Gary is a both a contributing author and associate editor. Gary is an nine-time FSWA Award finalist and three-time winner who has been a finalist for that organization's Fantasy Football Writer of the Year award each of the last four years. He won the honor in 2017 and 2019. Gary also appears regularly on Sirius XM Radio (including live from Radio Row at Super Bowl XLIX) and over-the-air stations across the country. Gary was one of the co-founders of, and Head Writer at, Fantasy Football Oasis before joining Fantasy Sharks as an IDP Senior Staff Writer in 2011. He knows football. Or so he's heard.